Reading Schemes

At Bramley Sunnyside Infants we use a combination of reading schemes as children progress.

 We are very lucky to offer a wide range of reading books from different publishers for example:

  • Oxford Reading Tree
  • Tree Tops
  • Story worlds
  • Project X
  • Rigby Star
  • Snap Dragons
  • Fireflies
  • Lighthouse

These give a variety of fiction and non–fiction books to develop children’s reading range. The books are “banded” so that books from different manufacturers, but of comparable level, are grouped together. This provides depth and consolidation for our children as they learn to read.

Children learn to read at different rates. The aim of the reading schemes are to produce competent readers who read for enjoyment and discover about the world around them.

Children are also encouraged to choose a book from our ‘Special Collection’ to go along side their guided reading book.

They can also pick one of the special gold sticker books. For children in Foundation Stage 1 and 2, they are located in the classroom – just ask an adult if you have not found them yet. For Year 1 and 2 they are on the shelves outside their classroom.

In addition, children in Foundation Stage 1 can borrow a book from the Foundation Library which happens every Thursday